Bartók's Concerto for Orchestra

Sunday 22 November,14:15
Zuiderstrandtheater, Den Haag


Due to measures regarding Covid-19, ticket sales for this concert have been temporarily suspended. We are currently looking into alternative options. Purchased tickets will remain valid and we will contact the ticket holders if programming changes occur.

With his spectacular ‘Concerto for Orchestra’, composed just before his death, Béla Bartók created part of the 20th century’s musical heritage. His composition unleashes all the expression, virtuosity and dynamism of the orchestra. And it does so spectacularly. We also honour Dutch composer Theo Verbey, who passed away last year, with his orchestral version of Janáček’s Piano Sonata 1.X.1905. The evening concludes with pianist Dejan Lazić’s return to The Hague, this time with Beethoven’s light-hearted Piano Concerto No. 2.

A complete afternoon!
Tickets include wardrobe, coffee/tea and a drink during the intermission.

Start your concert with the Starter
This concert is preceded by the Starter. A lively, informal program, full of live performances by our own musicians, as well as interviews with soloists and conductors. The Starter takes place in the Haven Foyer on the first floor, is free of charge and starts at 13:30.

About concert

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Dejan Lazic, piano

Janácek/Verbey – Sonata 1.X.1905 ‘From the Street’
Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 2
Bartók – Concerto for Orchestra

€26 | €33 | €38 | €47