Brahms 1

Friday 3 April,20:00
Zuiderstrandtheater, The Hague

Order tickets GO TO CALENDAR

Renes Back in The Hague

Brahms spent twenty years on his First Symphony because who could possibly surpass Beethoven? Brahms’s years of struggle resulted in a beautiful symphony that was nicknamed ‘Beethoven’s Tenth’, a worthy successor to Beethoven’s Ninth. Dutch conductor Lawrence Renes will also perform Dvořák’s symphonic poem ‘The Noon Witch’, in which a mother threatens her insufferable child with an imaginary sorceress. But suddenly the witch really shows up on the doorstep. Mezzo-soprano Barbara Kozelj dazzles with Wagner’s beautiful ‘Wesendonck Lieder’.

‘The biggest share of praise, however, is due to conductor Lawrence Renes…the results are overwhelming’ – THE FINANCIAL TIMES

A complete evening!
Tickets include wardrobe, coffee/tea and a drink during the intermission.

Start your concert with the Starter
This concert is preceded by the Starter. A lively, informal program, full of live performances by our own musicians, as well as interviews with soloists and conductors. The Starter takes place in the Haven Foyer on the first floor, is free of charge and starts at 19.15 hours.

About this concert

Lawrence Renes, conductor
Barbara Kozelj, mezzo-soprano

One Minute Symphony
Dvorák – The Noon Witch
Wagner – Wesendonck Lieder
Brahms – Symphony No. 1

€26 / €33 / €38 / €47

Order tickets