From Darkness to Light

Saturday 12 October,20:00
Zuiderstrandtheater, The Hague

Order tickets GO TO CALENDAR

Musical Melancholy and Hopeful Sounds

Experience the purity of Britten’s melancholic ‘Lachrymae’ with the unsurpassed Isabelle van Keulen as soloist. Let yourself be moved by the Dutch premiere of ‘After the Great War’, written by leading Dutch composer Verbey as a tribute to the soldiers who fell in the First World War. A fascinating work that was a huge success at its world premiere in Tampere, Finland. And finish the evening by surrendering to Vaughan Williams’s masterful Symphony No. 5 from 1943, a piece that brought peace and tranquillity to many in a very dark period.

“Violist Isabelle van Keulen crawls under the skin of the listener”– THE GELDERLANDER

A complete evening!
Tickets include wardrobe, coffee/tea and a drink during the intermission.


About this concert

Michal Nesterowicz, conductor
Isabelle van Keulen, viola

Britten – Lachrymae
Verbey – After the Great War (Dutch premiere)
Vaughan Williams – Symphony No. 5

€27 / €39 / €48 / €55

This concert is een cooperation with Festival Dag in de Branding. More information about the festival:

Order tickets